Sunday, 3 September 2017

What is the Fivefold Scapular?

This very useful booklet explains the origin and history of the Fivefold Scapular, and also of all the individual scapulars that it consists of, along with obligations and indulgences

The fivefold scapular as known today was in origin fourfold. Only with the approval of the Red Scapular of the Passion, in 1847, did it become known as the Fivefold Scapular. In 1803 the Redemptorist fathers were granted special faculties, in perpetuity, by the Holy See to bless and invest the scapulars, and to enrol the faithful into the respective confraternities, with the exception of the Red, which has no confraternity. Hence, the Fivefold Scapular has been known as a Redemptorist scapular.

In 1886 Pope Leo XIII gave permission to bless and enrol the five scapulars cumulatively and later the Church extended the faculty (to bless and enrol the Fivefold Scapular) to any priest.

The five scapulars are:

The White Scapular of the Most Blessed Trinity
The Brown Scapular of Our Lady of Mount Carmel
The Black Scapular of the Servites, or of the Seven Dolours of Our Lady
The Blue Scapular of the Immaculate Conception
The Red Scapular of the Passion

It is important to note that those wishing to wear the Fivefold Scapular must be enrolled using the approved formula (provided in this booklet), even if they have been enrolled in one or more of the scapulars that make up the Fivefold Scapular.

The Fivefold Scapular is blessed by any priest at the original investment or enrolling. When a scapular is worn out or soiled, it may be replaced with a new one without a further blessing.

Friday, 1 September 2017

First Saturday reminder

“Whether the world has war or peace depends on the practice of this devotion (the First Saturdays), along with the consecration of Russia to the Immaculate Heart of Mary. This is why I desire its propagation so ardently, especially because this is also the will of our dear Mother in Heaven”.
          – Sister Lucia, 19th March 1939.